Faculty and staff updates


Dr. Michael Czubryt, professor of physiology and pathophysiology, was appointed the position of executive director of research for St. Boniface Hospital. Read more.

The department of internal medicine, section of respirology, welcomed Dr. Steven Grocholski to its team in August 2021. Dr. Grochoski graduated medical school at the University of Limerick in 2015 and completed internal medicine and respirology training at the University of Manitoba. He subsequently attended the University of Alberta where he completed fellowship training in lung transplantation in June of 2021. He has a passion for education and is working towards completion of a masters of medical education through the University of Ottawa. The department is thrilled to welcome Dr. Grocholski as an attending physician in the Manitoba Lung Transplant Program and in the Section of Respirology.

In September 2021, Dr. Barbara Porto joined the department of medical microbiology and infectious diseases as an assistant professor. Dr. Porto is a respiratory virologist who will study the immune effects of RSV and SARS-CoV-2 on the innate immune system. Her overall research goal is to uncover how respiratory viruses trigger the death of innate immune cells and the role of innate cell death on diseases pathogenesis. She comes with experience as a professor in Brazil where she taught graduate courses and conducted research.  

Dr. Jude Uzonna, professor of medical microbiology/infectious diseases and associate dean (research), Max Rady College of Medicine, was appointed as a member of the Advisory Board of Canadian Institutes of Health Research’s Institute of Infection and Immunity.

The department of emergency medicine welcomes the following new faculty members – Dr. Matthew Kulas, Dr. Jason Kilimnik, Dr. Yvon Mono Makadiama, Dr. Valerie Marion and Dr. Robyn Rodger.  


The department of emergency medicine welcomes the following new staff members – Danielle Ashcroft, business manager, Jubran Hafeez, finance and human resource assistant, and Shara Werestiuk, education assistant.


The department of emergency medicine welcomes the following new residents – Dr. Luke Brueton-Campbell, Dr. Stephen Kesselman, Dr. Kerri Onotera, Dr. Christian Palaschuk, Dr. Emily Stoneham, Dr. Aedan Ladd, Dr. Delphine Ruremesha, Dr. Erika Donald, Dr. Mindle Eklove, Dr. Zeenib Kohja, Dr. Peter Stockmann and Dr. Mina Guindi.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed