Professors & Deans Emeriti

In 2023, the University of Manitoba conferred emeritus/emerita titles upon the following Rady Faculty of Health Sciences faculty members, recognizing their distinguished service to the university through teaching, research and scholarship.

David Collins profile pic
DR. DAVID COLLINS, Dean Emeritus

Dr. David Collins served as dean of pharmacy from 1999 to 2010 and later as vice-provost (academic planning and programs). As dean, he led the redevelopment of the undergraduate curriculum, emphasizing strong integration between pharmaceutical sciences and clinical practice. He played a central role in fundraising for and establishing the Apotex Centre as the home of the College of Pharmacy.

DR. BRIAN POSTL, Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus

Brian Postl [MD/76], a pediatrician and 40-year faculty member, was dean of the Max Rady College of Medicine for 12 years and of the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences for nine years. Under his leadership, the faculty established Ongomiizwin – Indigenous Institute of Health and Healing, implemented an anti-racism policy and introduced a more inclusive medical school admission policy. His honours include the Order of Canada.

DR. THOMAS HACK, Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Thomas Hack [MA/91, PhD/95], a cancer researcher in the College of Nursing, has been a dedicated faculty member for nearly 30 years. He has conducted influential research on the benefits of providing cancer patients with audio recordings of pivotal medical consultations. Among his honours are the Award for Research Excellence and the Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Canadian Association of Psychosocial Oncology.

Dr. Brian Blakley.
DR. BRIAN BLAKLEY, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Brian Blakley, a distinguished physician, researcher and professor, joined the faculty in 1997 as professor and head of otolaryngology. He became internationally known as an authority on ototoxic hearing loss. In 2020, he received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. He earned numerous awards for teaching and mentorship throughout his UM career.

Dr. Joanne Embree
DR. JOANNE EMBREE, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Joanne Embree made significant contributions as a pediatric infectious disease specialist and a researcher with the Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba (CHRIM). She led the UM department of medical microbiology from 2001 to 2013. She is known internationally for research on pediatric and maternal HIV in Africa. Locally, her infection expertise was vital at the Children’s Hospital during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Grant Hatch profile pic
DR. GRANT HATCH, Professor Emeritus

Grant Hatch [PhD/89] is highly respected for his contributions to cardiolipin biology and atherosclerosis research. A faculty member for more than 30 years, he holds a primary appointment in pharmacology and therapeutics and leads a lab at CHRIM. He has published more than 175 peer-reviewed papers and nine book chapters. His research earned him a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in molecular cardiolipin metabolism.

Gayle Restall profile pic
DR. GAYLE RESTALL, Professor Emerita

Gayle Restall [BMROT/79, PhD/10] has made an impact on the field of occupational therapy for more than two decades. Her research has focused on people living with chronic conditions. She has advocated strongly for equity, diversity and inclusion. In 2023, she received the Muriel Driver Lectureship Award from the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists, recognizing her contributions in research, teaching and practice.

Pamela Wener profile pic
DR. PAMELA WENER, Professor Emerita

Pamela Wener [BMROT/81, M.Ed./94, PhD/17], a leader and scholar in occupational therapy and interprofessional collaboration, championed innovative teaching from 1991 to 2022. She developed curricula and published in areas such as mental health and counselling. She co-developed the inaugural Rady Faculty Office of Interprofessional Collaboration. In 2022, she received a leadership award from the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists.