In 2020, the University of Manitoba conferred the title of Professor Emerita/Emeritus upon the following Rady Faculty of Health Sciences faculty members, recognizing their distinguished service to the university through teaching, research and scholarship.

DR. KENT HAYGLASS, Professor Emeritus

Immunologist Dr. Kent HayGlass has been a valued member of the university since 1986. His contributions include serving as head of the department of immunology and director of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) National Training Program in Allergy and Asthma Research. He has also held key leadership roles in national research consortia, such as the CIHR Human Immunology Network. HayGlass’s research determined how maladaptive immune regulation causes allergic disorders in children. He also investigated the immunological mechanisms responsible for health during pregnancy, and from infancy through adulthood. His accomplishments include holding a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair. He has been recognized as an innovative researcher (receiving the Bowman Rh Institute Foundation Award) and exceptional leader (the Canadian Society for Immunology Bernhard Cinader Award).

ROBERT LOTOCKI (B.Sc./71, MD/75), Professor Emeritus

Dr. Robert Lotocki joined the full-time teaching faculty of the department of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences in 1982. He held the rank of professor from 2001 until his retirement in 2019. In addition to providing highly valued clinical teaching, he served as residency program director and gynecological oncology fellowship director. During his distinguished career, he received multiple teaching awards. He authored more than 70 peer-reviewed publications and more than 100 scientific abstracts. Lotocki is widely recognized as a champion of innovation in cervical cancer screening and prevention. As medical director of CervixCheck, he modernized cervical cancer screening methods in Manitoba to align with current evidence. For his many contributions, he received the University of Manitoba Clinical Service Recognition Award.

DR. MICHAEL MOFFATT, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Michael Moffatt is the former head of the department of pediatrics and child health. While seconded by the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, he was instrumental in building an embedded research unit. For nearly five decades, Moffatt has dedicated his career to Indigenous health, both as a clinician and administrator through the J. A. Hildes Northern Medical Unit, now Ongomiizwin – Health Services. In these roles, he has introduced hundreds of medical trainees to northern communities. While his research has focused on the epidemiology of health in indigenous communities, he has also published on topics such as iron deficiency in developing children, sudden infant death syndrome, early childhood oral health, and prenatal care for high-risk inner-city women. He has received more than $2 million in external grant funding.

DR. MICHAEL MOWAT, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Michael Mowat is a cancer researcher whose work focuses on tumour suppressor genes. Over the past 35 years, the professor of biochemistry and medical genetics and senior scientist at the Research Institute in Oncology and Hematology has published in many high-impact journals. His seminal research showed the gene TP53 to be a tumour suppressor, not a tumour-causing gene, and p53 is today the most-studied gene in human disease. Mowat’s research and collaborations have attracted more than $7 million in grants and contracts, covering aspects of cancer research from genetics to chemotherapeutic drug resistance. He has supervised 20 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows and supervised over 30 undergraduate projects and summer research assistants. He is also recognized for his dedication to community service.

DR. NORALOU ROOS, Professor Emerita

Dr. Noralou Roos, professor of community health sciences, is the founding director of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy, the first such “big data” centre in Canada. She also co-founded, a project to ensure that evidence on health policy issues was accurately communicated in the media. Currently, she is co-director of the Get Your Benefits initiative, which focuses on ensuring that Manitobans living in poverty get access to the benefits to which they are entitled. Roos held a National Health Research Scientist award for 25 years and a Canada Research Chair in population health for seven years. She has received more than $12.5 million in research grants and contracts. Her honours include the Order of Canada and election to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.