Influential Seven

The Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA) marked its 100th anniversary in 2020.

In celebration, it awarded Centenary Medals of Distinction to more than 100 individuals across Canada who have made a significant impact on the physiotherapy profession.

Seven Manitobans, all alumni of the UM College of Rehabilitation Sciences, received the honour.

“I consider myself so fortunate to have had a career that allowed me to grow as a professional and took me places I never anticipated I would go when I first graduated,” said recipient Sam Steinfeld, echoing the grateful comments of other honorees.

D'Arcy Bain headshot.

D’Arcy Bain [Dip. PT/72, BPT/76] co-founded the physiotherapy centre at the Institute of Sports Medicine at the Reh-Fit Centre in 1979. Two years later he founded D’Arcy Bain Physiotherapy, which has grown to four locations. Bain has worked as a therapist at the Olympics, Summer World Student Games, Pan Am Games and as head therapist for Canada’s racquetball team.

Moni Fricke headshot.

Moni Fricke [BMRPT/87, M.Sc./98, PhD/16], assistant professor of physical therapy, conducted graduate research on rehabilitation in remote First Nations communities. In 2000, she led the development of the first community-based rehabilitation program in the Kivalliq Region of Nunavut, in partnership with communities. She is now director of the Rady Faculty’s Office of Interprofessional Collaboration.

Murray MacHutchon headshot.

Murray MacHutchon [BMRPT/82] is an orthopedic physiotherapist and founder of the Pembina Physiotherapy and Sports Injury Clinic in Winnipeg. He is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Manipulative Physiotherapy. He is a past instructor and examiner for the orthopedic division of the CPA and has been involved in teaching post-graduate physiotherapists across Canada.

Kathy Mulder headshot.

Kathy Mulder [Dip. PT/74, BPT/81] is a pediatric physiotherapist who has shared her knowledge internationally. She was the first physiotherapist to chair the Musculoskeletal Committee of the World Federation of Hemophilia. She received the CPA Global Health Award in 2008 and CPA Mentorship Award in 2016. She spent most of her career at Winnipeg’s Health Sciences Centre and retired in 2014.

Leonore Saunders headshot.

Leonore Saunders [BPT/72] was part of a small group that spearheaded the opening of what is now the College of Rehabilitation Sciences in 1960. She was president of the Manitoba branch of the CPA from 1955 to 1957. The CPA honoured her with life membership for her exemplary contributions to the profession. Saunders also received the Order of Manitoba. She passed away in 2019.

Sam Steinfeld headshot.

Sam Steinfeld [B.Sc./76, BMRPT/79], along with Laurie Urban and Russ Horbal, purchased the practice at the Institute of Sports Medicine at the Reh-Fit Centre and moved it to the Pan Am Clinic in 1984, renaming it the Sports Physiotherapy Centre. Steinfeld was the longtime physiotherapy consultant to the Royal Winnipeg Ballet and served on the board of the College of Physiotherapists of Manitoba.

Laurie Urban headshot.

Laurie Urban [Dip. PT/77, BPT/82, M.Sc./11] was one of three clinicians who started the Sports Physiotherapy Centre at the Pan Am Clinic. He was a physiotherapist for Team Canada at two Olympic Games, three Commonwealth Games and three Pan American Games. Urban has retired from practice but continues to teach at the College of Rehabilitation Sciences.