In 2021, the University of Manitoba conferred the title of Professor Emerita/Emeritus upon the following Rady Faculty of Health Sciences faculty members, recognizing their distinguished service to the university through teaching, research and scholarship.

Portrait of Dr. Jo-Ann Sawatzky.
JO-ANN SAWATZKY (BN/90, MN/93, PhD/99), Professor Emerita

Dr. Jo-Ann Sawatzky, professor of nursing, has been a member of the UM community since 1992.

From 2012 to 2018, she served as associate dean of graduate programs in the College of Nursing, providing leadership in the development of the PhD program and the expansion of the nurse practitioner program.

Sawatzky earned teaching awards nine times from the College of Nursing and received an award for excellence in professional nursing education from the Manitoba Association of Registered Nurses. Her excellence in mentorship was recognized nationally, and she served as key mentor for the Cardiovascular Nursing Scientist Training program.

Sawatzky’s research examining cardiac nursing and women’s health resulted in the development of clinical nursing research associate roles in emergency departments and cardiac science programs at Winnipeg hospitals.

Portrait of Dr. Michael West.
MICHAEL WEST (B.Sc.Med./73, MD/73, PhD/80), Professor Emeritus

Dr. Michael West joined the department of surgery in 1982. After working in the U.S. from 1994 to 2000, he returned as professor and head of neurosurgery to UM and the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.

West established a world-class neurosurgery centre in Winnipeg and introduced gamma knife surgery to Canada, improving the treatment of brain tumours. His roles included serving as associate dean of professionalism in the Max Rady College of Medicine. His research resulted in more than 100 publications and invited lectures.

West’s leadership led to Manitoba clinical advancements including the gamma knife stereotactic radiosurgery program, the Centre for Surgical Innovation in the Kleysen Institute for Advanced Medicine, and the stereotactic body radiation program using Varian Edge technology.

His awards include the Order of Manitoba.

Portrait of Dr. Richard Warrington.
DR. RICHARD WARRINGTON, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Richard Warrington, professor of internal medicine, headed the section of allergy and clinical immunology for 39 years. He conducted groundbreaking research, published more than 220 articles and abstracts in refereed journals, and had a stellar record of teaching and service.

Warrington was a research grant reviewer for 14 national councils and research foundations and a member of 18 national and international committees and boards.

He served as examiner, chief examiner and vice-chair in clinical immunology and allergy for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. His UM roles included directing the rheumatic disease unit research laboratory.

He received numerous honours for his distinguished record of achievement and professional service, including the Jerry Dolovich Award for contributions in allergy and clinical immunology in Canada.

Portrait of Dr. Teresa Zelinski.
TERESA ZELINSKI (B.Sc./78, M.Sc./81, PhD/84), Professor Emerita

Dr. Teresa Zelinski, professor of pediatrics/child health and biochemistry/medical genetics, is recognized internationally for her research in human red cell genomics. She has made important contributions to understanding rare genetic disorders within certain Manitoba populations.

Zelinski has published 72 peer-reviewed abstracts and 80 original papers and obtained more than $3 million in grant funding.

A leader in transfusion medicine, she has served in organizations such as the International Society of Blood Transfusion and the American Association of Blood Banks.

Zelinski has supervised many graduate students and been a key contributor to the pediatric residents’ research program. One of her legacies in the department of pediatrics and child health has been her tireless work in the area of promotions and tenure.